Goals · Planning · Productivity · Reviews

Creative Year- Dream Big Goal Planner First Impression Review

IMG_6618I purchased this planner on a whim. I saw it at Michaels and immediately fell in love with the cover. I knew I didn’t need or want one of there regular planners since I am not a coil planner gal, so I was excited to see when I picked it up to look at the cover, that it was a goal planner and not just a day planner.  Also it was on sale, so in my basket it went.

When I got it home, I immediately looked through it and I think I may have even showed it off a bit on my Instagram story.  A couple weeks later I am still not using it and even considering returning it.

Read below if you want to hear my thoughts and why I am considering returning.

I am not new to goal planning. I started last year with setting up my own goal planning system in my Recollections ring bound planner, and although I have changed it up from time to time, I am still using a similar method to what I have spoke about in these posts.

Goal Planning

Goal Planning For A New Year

Goal Tracking- How to Make it Work for You!

But I was curious to try an already made up, all in one place, goal planner where I didn’t have create my own pages.

IMG_6618Don’t get me wrong, it is a really pretty planner. The cover is gorgeous and I love the gold foiling ‘Dream Big’ on the front cover.

Inside the planner the set up isn’t bad. It’s undated so it is super flexible for when you start to use it, or how often you use it.

 

 

The first few pages are set up for setting up your goals. I really like the first page that asks what you want to do, why you want to do it, and what’s holding you back. I think if you could be really honest with yourself, this would be a great page to start on for your goal setting.

The next page confuses me a bit. It is for short term and long term goals,  but only have a place for four short term goals, and two long term. I would want more spaces for short term goals and maybe go to just one long term goal.

IMG_6620

The following two pages are set up to goals by month and there are 18 months because this is an 18 month planner.

IMG_6621

Next pages are setup for trackers: There is a gratitude tracker and achievement tracker.

IMG_6622

Next is a vision board, which I do think is really cool to include. It is an awesome space where you could draw or paste things in. It is grid paper too, which I think is a great choice.

IMG_6624

Next page is a motivation page. There are spaces for Reasons I want to be, do, go, try, change (with two for each). I wish this would have been left blank so you could decide if you wanted each space to be for. You have running list page for a bucket list with check boxes for when you complete and then before you get into the planner pages you have a notes & thoughts page with lines.

IMG_6625

 

The dividers for the month are pretty thick card stock. I wouldn’t consider them as heavy of weight as the happy planner, but they aren’t bad.

IMG_6627The planner pages start out with a monthly calendar which have decent box sizes. I love the water colours across the top. Then you get a page for your top ten goals for the month. The next page is a Routine page, where you can fill in your first thing, morning, afternoon, evening, before bed.

Next are the weekly pages, which are on a horizontal layout of a week per page.

IMG_6629

At the end of the month you get a goal tracker space, where you can write in fifteen goals. It’s not a huge deal, but I am not a fan of the set up of this page, and having to write you goals in twice to track.

IMG_6630

The final page is a place for notes and thoughts. I like having a note page at the end of the month. I think it is a good place for reflection.

IMG_6651

There are 18 months worth of planner pages.

In the back of the planner, there are 11 sheets of note paper, with lines on one side, and lines on the opposite side with the saying notes & thoughts. I think it is odd to have that saying on the back page, but that is just me being picky.

 

Following the note pages are stickers. You have month stickers to go across your calendar month pages. They give you two of each month. Next page of stickers are some cute motivational stickers. Next are stickers for long-term goals, goal achieved, blank, appointment, and goal deadline. Next page are the stickers for your month tabs and some more motivational and icon stickers.

The very back of the planner has a two side folder and a plastic ziplox pouch.

I really like the dividers, they are beautiful water colours with a mixture of patterns and quotes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So the reasons I am considering returning and why I think this planner isn’t going to work for me.

  1. IMG_6663
    The back 1/4 is notepages, stickers, and folders

    It is heavyyyy and I mean heavy. And by IMG_6659heavy I also mean bulky. (It is 7.5″x9.25″ in size but in thickness it is about an inch) Maybe because I am used to a 12 month planner, but this thing feels so big to me.  While the folder in the back is great because it is pretty heavy duty, it also makes up part of the bulk of the planner.  The note pages, folder, and stickers make up a quarter of the planner. I can’t imagine bringing this in my bag, or even having it out on my desk with my other planners. The folder makes up for a lot of the bulk, and I find myself wishing it was removable like the cover.

  2. I don’t find the set up is how I like to set up, plan, and execute my goals. If you read my post I linked above on goal planning, you’ll know I like to have my goals categorized and this set up has them all together. I also feel like there the planner is lacking in reflection. Which is another important part of goal setting for me. Yes I could use the note pages at the end of the month and create my own, but I would have liked to have seen some reflection pages pre-made like the goal setting.
  3. I also don’t plan and reflect on my goals day by day, so I can’t see myself getting the use out of this planner that I would want to. I think for me weekly reflection of my goals are enough, but it would all depend on the type of goal you have and how you want to achieve it.
  4. I have been spoiled with having a goal planner in a ring bound system, and I love the versatility of being able to move things around when it comes to my goals.

I think this planner would be great for someone who wants a planner and a goal planner all in one, and who doesn’t plan out their day in detail (as I don’t find there is much space in the daily planning spaces). I also think this would be a great goal planner for someone who is trying to achieve one major goal, and is working towards that goal, whether it is a business or a personal goal. For me, I am working towards more mini personal goals, ones that I don’t feel like I need to track with a whole planner and planner system. Ultimately this planner just feels like too much for me.

The reason I haven’t returned this is because I am intrigued to know if this planner could help me better recognize my goals. I find the goal setting sheets are great, but I don’t think I can justify keeping the planner just for those sheets.

If you want to purchase this planner and you live in the US here is the product on the Michaels webpage. Take Me To The Planner   It is on sale right now for $14.99 regular $29.99. In Canada the planners are $49.99 but when I was in Michaels today they were buy one get one free.

I would love to hear how you plan your goals so definitely leave me a comment down below with your favourite goal planner.

signature

 

2 thoughts on “Creative Year- Dream Big Goal Planner First Impression Review

  1. I have the first goals planner (made exactly like this one just different cover) and I agree with the set up. My goals are different, and it would be nice to have them categorized.

    Like

Leave a Reply

