Beauty · Reviews

Review: Sephora Favorites- Give Me Some Nude Lip

IMG_6799If you read my Sephora Haul post you saw that I picked up another Sephora Favorites Lip Kit. I love these kits, this is my third. If you want to see my thoughts on the second one you can check it out here.  If you are unfamilar with this kits, Sephora puts together six lip products, five in mini size and one full size product. The value of this kit is $84(cad) and it sells for $33.00.

Like I said in my last review, I love that these kits give you a chance to try out different lip products. I also love sample size lipsticks because they are easy to carry and since I am a lip product junkie, I never seem to go through an entire lip stick. Read below if you want to know my first impressions on the products in this kit.

This kit includes:

IMG_7041

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Ludwig which is a nude fawn colour. It is a 0.10 oz/3ml size. It was easy to apply. I used the tip to line my lips and then filled in with the doefoot applicator. It goes on super smooth and dries to the touch within 30 seconds. This was my first time trying the Kat Von D product and I am impressed with the application and staying power. Once it’s on, it’s not moving.

 

 

IMG_7044Next is my favourite in the kit: Buxom Full-On Lip Cream in Dolly which is a mauve colour. It is a 0.07oz/2ml. I have the shade White Russian which I got in my first lip kit box which I already loved, but this one I love even more. I love mauve tones and it has a perfect amount of shine.

 

IMG_7046

 

I was excited to try this next one. Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Color Splash Lipstick in Rum Punch, which is a nude mauve shade. This is a small lipstick 0.04oz/1.4 g which makes it a bit hard to apply, but I have pretty small lips so it is ok for me. I find this formula went on smooth but it didn’t seem to cover and it built up a bit weird. I think because it is so smooth in texture, it tends to slide a bit.

 

IMG_7048

I have been curious about this product for a while now. The Bite Beauty Multistick in Brioche which is a rich terracotta shade. I have only tried it as a lipstick so far, but I love the shade of it. The first swipe of application it did tug a bit, but as it warmed up it applied much easier. Also it applied over itself easily. I was a bit worried about it being flat, but it did apply well. This is a tiny size 0.07 oz/ 2.1 g but it is enough to give it a try.

IMG_7050

Another new product for me. Make Up Forever Artist Rouge in C211 Rose Wood. This lipstick smells kind of strange, almost perfumy, old makeup like. But it does go away after application. It is a pretty hydrating lipstick as first try, and I do like the colour, so I do see myself using it often. It is 0.04oz/1.4g.

 

 

IMG_7053 The full size product in this kit is the Ciaté London Liquid Velvet Moisturizing Matte Liquid Lipstick in Bitter Sweet which is a grayish pink shade. Full size is 0.22 oz/ 6.5 mL. It’s an interesting texture almost like pudding, and I found I had to wipe off some of the product before applying. It has a chemical smell at first, but that dissipates pretty quickly. The applicator has a good point but the flat part doesn’t seem wide enough. It doesn’t dry down as fast of as the KD and it wipes off easily. I am not a huge fan of this product, but sometimes I do end up liking products after using them more, so I will continue trying this out.

 

Here are the shades swatched on my arm. See below if you want to see them on my lips. My overall impression on this lip kit: I will use the majority of the products. I am still unsure on the liquid lipsticks not only because of their colours but also because I have issues with my lips being super dry and I have a feeling these would dry them out more. Plus I don’t like how when I wear matte lipsticks you can see every line in my lips. I wish the shade range on these lip colours were a bit wider, but overall I like how these kits give me the opportunity to try out different formulas, to know if I would purchase other shades in the brand.

Kat Von D

Buxom

Tarte

Bite

Makeup Forever

Ciate

 

Thanks for checking out my review! If you have any of these products in other shades I would love recommendations. Also if you have any tips on wearing matte liquid lipsticks without completely ruining my lips, I would love to hear any advice 🙂

signature

 

6 thoughts on “Review: Sephora Favorites- Give Me Some Nude Lip

Leave a Reply

